How to fix everything broken: aka Chocolate Chocolate Cake

Yesterday I skipped out on dinner and drinks to stay home and have a relaxing evening. I just wanted a minute to catch my breath, maybe snuggle with my italian greyhound princess (my dog, for those of you who haven’t met her) and watch some movies. I know, I’m lame. But sometimes I gotta slow down a little.

And guess what? I brook my foot. Fine. Like two toes, not the whole foot. But still.

I would have been much better off sipping on cocktails.

I had just put my groceries away, and as I went to open the blinds and let some sunshine in, my dog and I tripped and tumbled to the floor. Well, actually, I tripped trying to save her from getting crushed by my butter-enhanced figure. I must have collided with the furniture as well, because I was yelling expletives out the yin yang.

Later that evening I made my way to the emergency room, only to discover that I did indeed brake some kind of bone in my toe. They gave me a boot to wear for a few weeks and a referral to an orthopedic surgeon.

By the way, I am telling everyone that I broke my foot. Only because I seriously dislike the word toe. It sounds so gross.

Anyways, on top of my broken foot, I had a broken heart as well. Ah, I never thought I would see the day come when the boy who was supposed to marry me took off. But he did. And I am okay. Terribly sad, but most importantly, I know everything will be okay.

And, I left the hospital without pain killers and without crutches, which means I am already healing.

Praise god for that.

Oh, AND, now I will have extra time to bake. Because I can’t just walk around and simply proceed at full speed, I mean, what do you want from a girl with a broken foot?

Hah! My first mission was a chocolate cake.

Because there is nothing better for broken hearts and broken bones than chocolate cake, right?

[very long sigh.]

Start out by gathering all the ingredients, so you’re not running around frantically when you realize that you used your last eggs for a omelet this morning. Some flour, sugar, chocolate(!), black coffee (!), cocoa, oil, buttermilk, baking soda and power, and, the eggs.

IMG_1517

Butter two 10 x 2 inch cake pans. Line the bottom with a circle of wax paper, and grease the wax paper.

IMG_1528

Now, throw the chopped chocolate into the coffee and stir until combined. Dark chocolate + black coffee = heaven.

IMG_1533

Now, in a large bowl, sift together dry ingredients.

IMG_1544

Throw the eggs into the bowl of a stand mixer (or another large  bowl).

IMG_1557

Let them get nice and fluffy, beating for 3-5 minutes.

IMG_1561

Now add all the wet ingredients to the bowl, one at a time.

IMG_1572

Keep the mixer running until all ingredients are incorporated.

IMG_1578

Stir in flour until incorporated, being careful not to over beat the mixture. Now, pour into prepared baking pans, and off to bake.

IMG_1588

Allow the cakes to bake until ready, and then cool until cool to touch. Distract yourself with something, anything, but make sure to let that darn cake cool.

Now, for the frosting, just whisk together some corn syrup, sugar, and butter in a small saucepan.

IMG_1604

After mixture comes to a low boil, remove it from the heat and slowly whisk in the chocolate.

IMG_1629

IMG_1631

And some butta’.

IMG_1633

I filled my cake with this tangerine lemon curd. It added the most perfect, delicate, tangy sweetness to the cake. But, if you double the recipe, you could use the chocolate ganache for the filling and icing.

When everything is nice and cool, just assemble all the pieces, frost, and most importantly, serve. And patiently wait for the room to be dead silent while everyone stuffs their faces.

IMG_1675

IMG_1689

IMG_1696

IMG_1736

IMG_1732

IMG_1714

Chocolate chocolate cake
barely adapted from Smitten Kitchen

cake
3 ounces bittersweet chocolate, chopped
1 1/2 cups freshly brewed coffee
3 cups sugar (I used a combination of brown and white)
2 1/2 cups flour
1 1/2 cups unsweetened cocoa powder
2 teaspoons baking soda
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
1 1/4 teaspoons salt
3 large eggs, at room temperature
3/4 oil
1 1/2 cup buttermilk, well shaken
1 teaspoon vanilla bean paste

1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees F. Grease two (2) 10 x 2 inch cake pans. Fit the centers with wax paper, and grease the wax paper.
2. Stir chopped chocolate into hot, fresh coffee. Continue stirring periodically until fully combined.
3. Now, sift together the sugar, flour, coca, baking soda and powder, and salt.
4. In the bowl of an electric mixer or in another large bowl, beat together eggs until light and fluffy, about 3 (machine) to 5 (man) minutes.
5. Add in the wet ingredients one at a time, including the chocolate/coffee, oil, buttermilk, and vanilla.
6. On low speed, or with a spatula, fold in the sifted dry ingredients until just combined. Make sure not to over beat the batter.
7. Pour batter into prepared pans and bake for 60-70 minutes.

frosting
8 ounces semisweet chocolate
1/2 cup heavy cream
2 tablespoons corn syrup
2 tablespoons brown sugar
2 tablespoons salted butter, cubed

1. While the cake is cooling, make the frosting by combining cream, syrup, and sugar in a small saucepan. Cook over medium heat, whisking constantly, until it comes to a low boil.
2. Remove from heat, and stir in chocolate.
3. When chocolate is fully melted, stir in butter.

filling
Tangerine-lemon curd
or
double frosting recipe and use half as filling

assembly
1. When cake layers are completely cool, transfer to a cake stand. Fill with the creamiest, smoothest lemon-curd filling. Coat entire cake in chocolate ganache,
2. Serve and enjoy!

Comments
One Response to “How to fix everything broken: aka Chocolate Chocolate Cake”
  1. Amy says:

    Beautiful cake. I hope your heart and foot heal quickly.

Leave a Reply

