Tangerine Lemon Curd

Yesterday I put my big girl shoes on, and despite my enormous fear of failure, I made french pastry dough for the first time. I was so excited that I finally got the courage for this endeavor. For some reason, the words “French” and “pastry dough” always make me think of professional bakers, with white, clean linens, standing in neat lines in a fine Paris bakery where only the creme de la creme are welcome. But, my friends, I have good news. You do not need to be a trained baker, or in Paris, or fancy and sophisticated in any way, to make this tart. You just need a tart pan and some serious excitement.

I used all my good chocolate to make these amazing brownies, so when I forgot – of course!- to think of a filling for my tart, I looked to the fresh citrus on my counter. It was fresh, and colorful, and waiting to be baked. Maybe not as rich and decadent as a chocolate ganache, citrus is so sophisticated, and the perfect combination of tang and sweet, and the perfect filling for a tart.

I found this recipe for Tangerine Lemon Curd on Joy the Baker, barely tweaked it, and whipped it up in no time. Curd is so creamy! (How weird does that sound? Uch, the name curd alone could dissuade me from making this entire thing. In fact, it almost did. My sister proclaimed that she would have nothing to do with a “curd.” But I had faith, and indeed, it was good faith.) More decadent that I had thought, this silky, sweet, and tangy tangerine curd is kinda life- changing. You should try it.

All you need is some citrus, sugar, butter and eggs. Start with tangerines, lemons, and white granulated sugar.

IMG_1186

Now zest a bunch of tangerine, and a little bit of lemon.

IMG_1195

Rub the zest into the sugar with your fingertips. This helps release all the flavor. And it’s kinda fun.

IMG_1200

Now squeeze out that tangerine juice. And some lemon juice.

IMG_1212

Now add all the egg yolks, and stir it together.

IMG_1223

Throw it over medium heat, for about five minutes.

IMG_1237

You can also tell it’s done if it holds onto the back of a wooden spoon.

IMG_1238

Add butter, one cube at a time.

IMG_1250

Keep adding the butter, and whisking until combined. Whisk until all the butter pats are incorporated.

IMG_1255

Cover and refrigerate.

IMG_1260

Tangerine Lemon Curd
adapted from Joy the Baker
This curd is so silky, and the perfect combination of tart and sweet. I doubled the original recipe, and only added the egg yolks to maximize the rich, creamy texture.

1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar
3 tangerines
1 lemon
six large egg yolks
8 tablespoons (1 stick) butter, cubed
pinch of salt

1. First, zest about one tangerine and a little bit of one lemon.
2. Using your fingers, rub zest into the sugar to release flavors.
3. Now, juice the tangerines until you have 1/2 cup juice. Juice one half lemon until you get two tablespoons juice.
4. Strain juice to remove seeds.
5. Over medium heat, in a small saucepan, combine sugar and juices.
6. Add egg yolks, and cook for about five minutes, or until the curd clings to the back of a wooden spoon.
7. Remove from heat and whisk in butter, a few cubes at a time. Add salt.
8. Cover and refrigerate.

Leave a Reply

