David Lebovitz’s seriously amazing Brownies (Gluten-free)

There’s not much to say about these brownies. Except that you must make them now.

I used some fancy Callebaut chocolate and I have not one regret.

IMG_1269

They are one of those brownies that become the standard. So, wherever you are, whenever you try your next brownie, you will be comparing it to these. This brownie is okay, but it’s far less fudgy than David’s. Yeah, this brownie is pretty good, but it’s not as moist as David’s. You get the picture, right? They’re just amazing.

First, I toasted some nuts.

IMG_1277

Then, I melted together, over the lowest possible heat, some butter and chocolate. Mmmm, butter and chocolate.

IMG_1296

Stirred in the sugar. Then the eggs (one at a time).

IMG_1308

I sifted together some corn starch and coca powder.

IMG_1286

Stirred it into the chocolate.
IMG_1311

And I beat the batter vigorously for one minute. Very vigorously. And got my workout in for the day. (I have made these brownies several times, and this is a very important step. You will be glad you did this.)

When the batter was no longer grainy, but smooth, and it pulled away from the bowl, I added the toasted nuts and some cocoa nibs.

IMG_1317

IMG_1326

I just smoothed out the batter, and stuck it in the oven for 30 minutes.

IMG_1332

A painstakingly long and hungry 30 minutes.

IMG_1474

IMG_1480

David Lebovitz’s seriously amazing gluten-free brownies

6 tablespoons salted butter, cut into one inch pieces
8 ounces bittersweet chocolate
3/4 cup sugar
2 large eggs, at room temperature
1 tablespoon cocoa powder
3 tablespoons cornstarch
1 cup nuts, toasted and chopped
1/2 cup cocoa nibs

1. Preheat oven to 350F. Butter and flour an 8×8 pan.
2. Melt butter and chocolate in saucepan over the lowest possible heat. Remove from heat when there are just a few pieces of chocolate left, to prevent mixture from getting too hot. Stir until everything is melted.
3. Add sugar.
4. Add eggs, one at a time, beating after each egg.
5. Sift together cocoa and cornstarch, and stir into chocolate.
6. Beat mixture vigorously for one minute. Do not skip this step. There is not even an or else, just don’t skip it.
7. Add nuts and nibs. Pour batter into the prepared pan and bake for 30 minutes.

Now this is an “or else”:
Allow the brownies to cook completely before slicing and serving. Or else, they will be very crumbly and won’t cut well. I’d say half the time I can’t resist and dig in before they are cool. They are just as delicious, if not more.

Comments
3 Responses to “David Lebovitz’s seriously amazing Brownies (Gluten-free)”
  1. Hi, thanks for following my blog 🙂 I just took a look at yours and you’ve got some good recipes. This one I might try for a friend who has a gluten free diet.

  2. Hello, thanks for following my blog! I’ve had a look at yours and you have some good recipes. I might try this one for a friend that has a gluten free diet 🙂

Leave a Reply

