Biscuit Muffins

The other day I found this recipe for Biscuit Muffins and knew I was in trouble. I mean, I obviously love biscuits. And I obviously love muffins. Biscuit muffins just seemed like the next logical step. The right thing to do.

I made these on a Saturday night, swearing up and down that I was going to save them for my friend’s brunch the next morning. I promised myself that I was going to resist eating the biscuits, so that there would be enough for everyone at the party and so that all the butta’ didn’t end up on my hips. It’s kinda like all those times that I promised I was only going to eat one tablespoon of Nutella a night, making the container last a full two weeks rather than one measly, gray weekend. Never going to happen. Oh well. My best suggestion is to only make these if someone beside you will devour them. Like I said, resisting freshly baked biscuits is just not going to happen.

I found the recipe on Leite’s Culinaria, a food blog I am sorry to say that I just discovered, but one that is quickly becoming part of my morning reading. The recipe is from a cookbook called Piece of Cake by David Muniz and David Lesniak. They said that they felt compelled to share the recipe only because the biscuit muffins are such a popular item. I can’t blame them. These are perfect for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, for snack-time, or nap-time, for every time.

And if you needed more of an incentive, I’ll tell you right now that these are super easy to make.

Just preheat your oven, and butter a muffin pan.

Gather together some flour, sugar, butter, buttermilk, baking powder and soda, and salt.

IMG_1355

Throw it all in the bowl of a stand mixer and mix on low until combined.

IMG_1360

With the mixer running on low, add butter, a few tablespoons at a time. IMG_1370

Mix until course crumbles, crumbs, pea-sized crumbs, whatever you wanna call it…

IMG_1374

Keep the mixer running and pour in buttermilk.

IMG_1384

Stop the mixer BEFORE it comes together, so that most of the flour is wet but there a few dry clumps of flour.

IMG_1402

Scoop batter into prepared pan.

IMG_1405

Bake for about 25 minutes.

IMG_1415

Now, some tangerine curd on there.

IMG_1463

Muffin Biscuits
Very slightly adapted from Leite’s Culinaria

3 3/4 cups flour
5 tablespoons brown sugar, not packed
1 heaping tablespoon baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
16 tablespoons (1 stick) butter, cut into even pieces
1 1/2 cup buttermilk

1. Preheat oven to 350F. Butter and flour a muffin tim.
2. In the bowl of a stand mixer, combine flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and baking soda on low speed.
3. With the mixer running on low, add a few pieces of butter at a time. Keep mixing until the mixture is crumbly with pea-sized chunks of butter.
4. With the mixer still running, slowly pour in the buttermilk until the majority of the flour is wet. Stop the mixer before buttermilk is fully incorporated, so that there are still little patches of dry flour sprawled throughout the batter.
5. Scoop into prepared muffin pan. (You kinda have to push the batter down in the tin to fit it all. This recipe makes 12 standard size muffins.)
6. Bake for 25 minutes. Let cool and enjoy. The muffin tops should be nicely browned and firm to the touch.

Leave a Reply

