Browned butter pear and apple crisp

I have this problem when I go food shopping. I know that it is dangerous to have oreos and wheat thins in my house, because when the sun goes down and no ones looking, I sneakily eat them by the handful. But, as I stand there in front of a sprawling display of toasted onion crackers and crème-filled cookies, the boxes of processed goods that taste so much like comfort call my name. The calling gets louder and louder until I stealthily make my way to the produce. If I don’t escape, I will slowly convince myself to get the goods. You won’t eat it all, Gordana, you will just have two a night, right? Wrong. It never happens, so I try to avoid the temptation.
My other problem is that I supplement my processed food cravings with fresh fruit. I mean I guess this is a less of a problem, and more of a healthy habit. But just wait. I pile pears and apples, and different oranges and melons in my cart and take them home with the truest intention to eat them. But after a few nights of yogurt and fruit, my willpower wanes and I give in to my cravings. And what to do with leftover food? Bake, of course.
I’ve baked scones with strawberries, and brownies with sweet potatoes, but neither of those can hold the volume of fruit that I know I am never actually going to eat for breakfast I have leftover. Ah, but with such amazing things like scones and muffins, can you really blame me? Anyways, I found Ina Garten’s recipe for Apple and Pear Crisp, and I knew that with some browned butter snuck in there, the crisp would fit the bill.
First, peel and core some apples and pears.

IMG_1001

IMG_1004

Slice ’em and dice ’em, and throw them in a bowl.

IMG_1006

IMG_0989

IMG_1008

Now, throw some butter into a saucepan over medium heat

IMG_1011

I added one tablespoon of vanilla bean paste. You can also use the seeds from one vanilla bean or some vanilla extract.

IMG_1016

Now, let that butter brown. Keep it cooking over medium heat for 4-5 minutes, or until butter is brown and fragrant.

IMG_1028

While it cooks, add some sugar, flour, and a little salt to the bowl of apples and pears.

IMG_1034

Add the browned butter and stir to combine.

IMG_1046

To make the crumble topping, mix together some flour, equal parts brown and white sugar, and a handful of oatmeal.

IMG_1060

IMG_1063

Now, cut two sticks of butter into little pieces, and throw on top of the streusel mixture.

IMG_1068

IMG_1070

Now combine everything until the butter is incorporated and in small to medium chunks. I mixed with my hands, but you could use a pastry cutter. Or you could put all the ingredients in a food processor and pulse until combined.

IMG_1075

Now, throw the apple and pear compote into a baking dish, and top with streusel. Pat down lightly.

IMG_1073

Bake for 50 to 60 minutes, and be prepared for the warmest, most delicious smell to come from your oven.

IMG_1088

Adapted from Ina Garten (topping) and The Alchemist (filling)

This apple and pear crisp is the perfect vacuum for my fruits. Filled with pears and apples, and soaked in a delicious brown butter-vanilla sauce, each bite is a little piece of heaven. Easy to bake, and the best way to end a long day.

4-5 apples
3-4 pears
2 tablespoon lemon juice
2 tablespoons orange juice
1/2 cup butter
1 tablespoon vanilla bean paste
1/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 cup flour
1 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 cups flour
3/4 cup light brown sugar, lightly packed
3/4 cup white sugar, lightly packed
1 cup oatmeal
1 cup butter

1. First, preheat oven to 350F. Peel and core apples and pears. Then thinly slice fruits and chop into little pieces. Add lemon and orange juice and stir to combine.
2. Melt the butter and vanilla in a saucepan over medium heat for about five minutes, or until it is brown and nutty smelling. In the meantime, add sugar, flour, and salt to apples and stir to combine.
3. When butter is fragrant and brown, pour over apples and stir to combine. Transfer to a baking dish and set aside.
4. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, brown sugar, white sugar, and oatmeal.
5. Cut butter into very small pieces and sprinkle on top of the flour mixture.
6. Using your fingertips, combine butter and flour mixture until everything is incorporated into big and little chunks.
7. Pour crumb mixture over apple and pears. Bake for 45-50 minutes.

Comments
3 Responses to “Browned butter pear and apple crisp”
  1. NickkiT says:

    I love the sound of this. I’ve never had a pear crisp before, I will have to give it a try 🙂

  2. k2 vitamin says:

    This is the perfect web site for everyone who
    really wants to understand this topic. You realize a whole
    lot its almost tough to argue with you (not
    that I personally will need to…HaHa). You certainly put a fresh spin on a topic that’s been discussed for ages. Wonderful stuff, just great!

Leave a Reply

