Sweet Potato-Spelt Brownies (fudgey, cakey brownies)

Yesterday I was having an intense craving for fudgey, cakey brownies. I wanted nothing. other. than brownies. But I was having an equally intense desire to avoid leaving my house. And I didn’t have any milk, or eggs, or flour. And I was in my pajamas. Still, I was not deterred. And for someone who was too lazy to get dressed or run up to the store, I rather energetically shuffled through my kitchen and straight to my pantry. I searched high and low for something to transform my favorite cocoa powder into brownies. Determined to find a recipe that could deliver my chocolate fix, I grabbed some spelt flour and a few sweet potatoes.

First, I chopped and boiled the sweet potatoes. I let the cool, and in the meanwhile sifted most of the spelt flour along with some cocoa powder, baking powder, coffee granules, and salt.

IMG_0762

In a separate bowl, whisk together the oil, sugar, and vanilla. Stick the sweet potatoes in the food processor and pulse until pureed. Pour sweet potato puree into wet ingredients.

IMG_0757

Gently stir dry ingredients into wet ingredients until combined.

IMG_0771

Coat chocolate chips with remaining spelt flour and mix into the brownie batter.

IMG_0777

Bake for 30 minutes at 350F. And, if you can (which I couldn’t–even though I was supposed to take pretty pictures) cool on a wire rack for ten minutes.

IMG_0790

IMG_0793

IMG_0816

IMG_0823

Wait up a minute-

Do you love this recipe but want a healthier version? If so, check out these awesome, wheat-free sweet potato brownies from PaleoOMG

Do you love fugey, cakey brownies, but not so hot on sweet potatoes?
Sub pureed sweet potatoes for 1/2 cup milk, and 1/2 cup coffee (leave out the coffee granules)

Sweet potato- spelt brownies
Adapted from Gwyneth Paltrow’s Fudge Chocolate Brownies in Stylist

These cakey, fudgey brownies are divine. And (kinda, well, slightly) healthy too. But don’t worry, even the toughest critics won’t be able to taste the sweet potato.(the smell is not so easy to hide, however).

2 medium sweet potato, peeled and cubed (or 1/2 cup milk and 1/2 cup coffee combined)
2 cups spelt flour, divided
1 cup cocoa powder
1 1/2 tablespoons baking powder
1 tablespoon instant coffee granules
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 1/2 cup sugar
1 tablespoon vanilla
3/4 cup good quality chocolate chips (I used 1/2 cup bittersweet and 1/4 cup milk)

1. Add sweet potato chunks to boiling, salted water. Remove after 20 minutes, or when soft and mash-able. Allow potatoes to cool, and then transfer chunks to a food processor and puree (if using milk/coffee, skip this step).
2. Preheat oven to 350 F.
3. Combine 1 3/4 cups spelt flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, instant coffee granules, and salt.
4. In a separate bowl, whisk together oil, sugar, and vanlila. Add pumpkin puree (or milk/ coffee).
5. Fold dry ingredients into wet ingredients.
6. Sprinkle remaining 1/4 spelt flour over chocolate chips and toss till combine. Stir into brownie batter.
7. The batter will be very thick. Transfer batter to a 9×9 baking pan and smooth until even.
7. Bake for 28-30 minutes. Remove and cool for 10 minutes.

Leave a Reply

