Zucchini Cobbler, Savory

When I’m stressed, I bake a lot. Measure, mix, make. The rhythm is soothing. Unfortunately, when the oven opens and the warm smell of comfort finally permeates my apartment, I find myself standing over trays of brownies and breads, eating numerous “last bites”. So not good for me. What am I stressed about? Graduating college without a job. You’ve probably been here already, but I haven’t, and it’s not super pleasant to say the least. Hah. I have faith it will all work out though, and in the meantime I plan to distract, distract, distract.
When I get to thinking about it, well, I usually stop. I figure that thinking-actually for honesty’s sake, ruminating- on it could not be that productive, right? So why not bake instead? I might as well think of a few ways to get rid of all the zucchini around here. Now, where to start. Quick breads? I’ve made a few. Biscuits? Check. Brownies, tarts, pies…clearly I am not the only one a) stressed, or b)trying to get rid of zucchinis.

IMG_0154

IMG_0172

I wanted a recipe for zucchini tacos, or quesadillas, something warm to enclose the chopped, seasoned veggie. I wanted to make zucchini bread. I really did. Although I spotted delicious recipes on all my favorite blogs, I could not deny my urge to make good ol’ zucchini bread. But I knew I would eat it. So I compromised. A zucchini cobbler. All those delicious bites of zucchini flaked with speckles of buttery crunch. Yes, yes, yes. I made this one savory, too. Cilantro and cheddar. Hopefully I’ll be able to stop after a few servings. All you gotta do is chop and grill some zucchini, and ‘”plop” some cilantro-cheddar biscuit mixture on top. Stick it in the oven, and Viola. A remarkably easy and delicious meal that I can demolish and not feel extremely guilty about that will feed a happy family (?). So, like I said, cook some zucchini. Throw it in a pie dish. Then proceed to make the delicious cobbler topping- my favorite part. Start with some flour, baking soda, and butter. With a pastry blender, incorporate those butter nibs.

IMG_0160

I gotta stop here for just a second. You see that mixture, with the butter nibs and flour? Thats my idea of a “course crumble,” or “pea-size chunks.” This is the secret to making flaky, buttery biscuits. No over-mixing here. Not so scientific, right? Guess thats how the cookie crumbles. (HA) Anyways…

IMG_0182

IMG_0188

Mix, “plop,” and bake.

IMG_0211

Savory zucchini cobbler with cheddar cheese and cilantro
biscuits from Two peas and their pod (such a cool blog)
recipe inspired by Real Simple

1 lb. zucchini, cut into 1/2 inch rounds and quartered (3 medium)
2 shallots, chopped
2 tablespoons olive oil
salt and pepper
handful of cilantro, coarsely chopped
1/4 cup chicken broth

2 cups flour
1 teaspoon sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 teaspoon salt
8 tablespoons butter, cold, cut into one inch squares
1 cup buttermilk (homemade by yours truly, just so I don’t have to hit the store)
1 cup white cheddar cheese, grated
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/3 cup cilantro, fresh and coarsely chopped

1. Preheat oven to 375 F.
2. Heat olive oil in skillet over medium heat. Add garlic and onions, stir, cook for 3-5 minutes. Throw in zucchini, sprinkle with salt and pepper. Mix in cilantro. Add chicken broth, increase heat to medium-high , and cook for 10 minutes. Poor into prepared pie dish.
3. Combine dry ingredients, from flour to salt. Throw in the cubes of butter, and using a pastry cutter, blend until consistency resembles a course crumble. (It should look like a bunch of butter nibs dredged in flour. this is my best explanation, and for that I’m sorry. I realize it’s not very explanatory but it’s my rule of thumb.)
4. Poor in buttermilk and combine using a wooden spoon or cool silicone pastry thing. Be gentle! No over-mixing. Add cheese and cilantro and mix until just incorporated.
5. “Drop” biscuit mixture onto cooked zucchini and cook in the oven for 30-35 minutes.

THIS IS AMAZING.aammaazziinnnggg. I made several people very happy with this. You should make it now. Right now.

Leave a Reply

