Kiwi-coconut muffins

Sometimes I feel like a vacation without a kitchen is not complete. I mean, my idea of a vacation is a kitchen, along with some fresh food, free time, friends and family. As much fun as I had traipsing around Orlando this weekend, hanging at Magic Kingdom, and being wined and dined, I am very grateful to be home. Back in my kitchen. A kind of permanent vacation.
IMG_0070
This is my favorite picture. Not because it’s a great photo, we both know it’s not. I just love giraffes. Always have. They are such beautiful, elegant creatures, yes?

Anyways. As I sipped my coffee yesterday morning, already dreading the unpacking process, I found a recipe for Kiwi coconut muffins. A great distraction from worrying about everything I need to do. A great distraction from actually doing everything I need to do. Sigh. Sometimes there are not enough hours in the day.
Anyways, I figured that making these muffins was actually productive because I could use up my leftover kiwi. Whatever you say, Gordana.

I tried to put a coconut crumb topping on these babies. twice. FAIL. Luckily for anyone who has to be around me tonight, the pure deliciousness of these muffins are redeeming. (I tend to sulk after failed recipes, a lot…)

IMG_0105

IMG_0108

IMG_0116

Those little flecks of kiwi goodness give the muffin a great bite. These flavors, all together…so, well, perfect. And whoever thought of kiwi puree is genius. The taste and smell of the tropics infused into a rich and buttery coconut-cream muffin.

IMG_0143

IMG_0139

Kiwi coconut muffins
slightly adapted from An Edible Mosaic

2 medium kiwis
1 1/4 cup flour
1 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup unsweetened, shredded coconut
3 tablespoons butter
3/4 cup sugar
1 egg
2 teaspoons vanilla bean paste
2 tablespoons sour cream
1 teaspoon lime zest

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a 6-muffin pan.
2. In a food processor, puree peeled and chopped kiwi until smooth.
2. Whisk together flour, baking powder, soda, salt, and coconut.
3. Beat butter and sugar on medium speed for at least two minutes.
4. Add the egg and mix until combined.
5. Add vanilla, sour cream, kiwi puree, and lime zest. Mix until combined.
6. Fold in dry ingredients until just combined. Do not over-mix.
7. Divide batter.
8. Bake for 22 minutes. Let cool, transfer to wire rack after ten minutes, and enjoy.

These smell and taste like vacation, to say the least.

Leave a Reply

