How I feel about my first & a delicious dark chocolate mousse

Disclaimer: I guess everybody has to have at least one of one of these “beginning posts”, if not an accumulation of several years worth, you know? ;/ I’m not big on beginnings, I much prefer middles and ends where things are more established. I so wish I could come to you with years of arduous blogging experience, or at least some serious cooking experience, but I have neither. Hopefully I will earn your patience and this blog will become a lesson in food and life.

Food is very fascinating to me. I think that ingredients just hold this glorious potential; they are often delicious on their own, yet they’re practically begging to be transformed into something even more irresistible. I love the whole cooking process, too: the measuring, the melting, the steaming, the smothering…and then the oozing, cheesy, buttery, flaky – did I mention the oozing? Cooking has become so much more than a hobby for me. It has become a way to add meaning to my life and to the lives of all those around me. It has showed me that a little love goes a long way, and that sometimes all we can do is follow the directions and have faith that everything comes out right.

Which leads us to my less enlightened side. Wherein I occasionally feel guilty about eating such deliciousness and force myself to discover a leaner, lighter alternative- which always ends up just as delicious. And yesterday I was feeling pretty guilty. You see, I live in Florida right near the Strawberry Festival and every year around this time I head out to a farm in Plant City and stock up on strawberries. Im talkin’ stock UP. I bought two flats, and ended up with about ten pounds of fresh, sweet, succulent berries. Yeah, two pounds (in my defense, they do freeze excellently.) Anyways, after sprinkling a few strawberries on my oatmeal for an entire week and barely making a dent, I started to look for recipes.

still working on the pictures over here, obviously...

still working on the pictures over here, obviously…


Now, usually I have a loyal following of friends and family that eagerly await my cooking creations. It just so happens, however, that everybody was busy and the strawberries-which got turned into a crisp, and some cake, and really good biscuits- had to sit in my refrigerator over night. This is NEVER good. If you are ever in the are, holla at me, just so we can make sure that I am never left alone with such deliciousness. Anyways, as you probably surmised (well, if you know me) I ate a few bites too many. And although this story took a long time to tell, it accurately describes why I am now making this super healthy dark chocolate strawberry mousse, which is actually so delicious that it could fool pretty much anyone into loving raw food. I’m serious. And for the more indulgent, check out these strawberry and cream breakfast biscuits.

Here are some (very slightly)  improved pictures

Here are some (very slightly) improved pictures


Tastes ten times better than it looks, I promise

Tastes ten times better than it looks, I promise


Dark Chocolate Strawberry Mousse
adapted from this recipie by Victoria from Id Chomp That

10 medjool dates (microwaved in a cup of water for three minutes or soaked for a few hours)
1/2 cup maple syrup
1 tsp. vanilla
two large avocados
3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder (the best quality you can get your hands on)
1/2 cup almond milk
1 cup strawberries

1. Remove pits from dates and throw into a food processor. Also, remove skin from avocado and mash by hand.
2. Drizzle maple syrup and vanilla into processor and mix until smooth.
3. Add mashed avocados, cocoa powder, and almond milk. Again, mix until smooth.
4. Gently fold in strawberries. Divide into four bowls. Try (and if you’re me, fail) to allow them to set in the fridge for a bit. This is delicious the first day and even better the second.

Leave a Reply

